Effect of tactile paving on steering of a Whill powerchair

• Effect of tactile paving on steering of a Whill powerchair

Posted by Don on June 21, 2023 at 10:42 am

I have been visiting Japan regularly for 38 years but this May was my first trip as a disabled wheelchair user. My (Japanese) wife decided it was easier to rent a powerchair locally and she arranged 1 month rental of a Whill model C2, I found it robust, stable and easy to drive, with one important exception. Japan invented the yellow tactile paving with bumps and raised lines to assist the sight-impaired. These are at intersections and danger spots everywhere. It is impossible to avoid them. The bumps were just bumpy as were the lines if I approached them at a 90 degree angle. However if I drove in the direction of the lines the steering went crazy, the powerchair leapt to one side and I had no control. It was like being in an earthquake but potentially very dangerous if I was near a platform edge, close to a road or in a crowded place. I am a relative novice 77-year old powerchair user. My home country, the UK, has far fewer of these tactile tiles but unlike Japan the pavements are in a disgraceful uneven condition. Am I imagining this problem with a Whill in Japan? Are other types of powerchairs without 4-wheel drive and more standard tyres affected? Whill is a Japanese company. It is inconceivable it marketed this model without road-testing under Japanese conditions.

Josh Grisdale replied 1 year, 3 months ago 4 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • schroth-sensei

June 21, 2023 at 11:45 am